"Traced in Air"

(Season of Mist)

01. Nunc Fluens
02. The Space For This
03. Evolutionary Sleeper
04. Integral Birth
05. The Unknown Guest
06. Adam's Murmur
07. King of those Who Know
08. Nunc Stans

RATING: 9/10

In 1993 a band called CYNIC set the standard for not just progressive death metal (you could make the argument for ATHEIST and even PESTILENCE too), but also progressive rock/metal with the seminal "Focus". Vocalist/guitarist Paul Masvidal had a vision for a band that would break the mold and succeeded in making an album with drummer Sean Reinert, guitarist Jason Gobel, and bassist Sean Malone that 15 years later continues to influence scores of thinking man's bands. After an eternity, Masvidal and Reinert (also credited with keyboards), along with bassist Sean Malone and guitarist/vocalist Tymon Kruidenier, decided it was time to begin writing the second chapter of the CYNIC saga, which will soon be available in the form of "Traced in Air", a brilliantly composed progressive metal/rock album.

Notice I didn't use the term "death" in that description. Even though "Focus" fell loosely into the progressive death category, the only trace of death left in the CYNIC sound on "Traced in Air" is the occasional accent growl. "Traced in Air" is a progressive rock (and to some extent metal) album that sees CYNIC soaring to melodic heights never before seen from the band. I suspect the "Focus" diehards will be split into two camps over this one; those who wanted "Focus Part II" and those who recognize that CYNIC has never been about standing still and see the album for what it is — a stirring work of progressive music.

Others will complain about the 34-minute running time. It is a specious complaint anyway, as one of the qualities inherent in "Traced in Air" is the ability of the album to suck in the listener from the first notes and take him/her on a journey through a multitude of musical movements somehow compacted into the span of a four- or five-minute track, then deposit the explorer back on earth with a yearning to do it all over again. In other words, "Traced in Air" is an album accessible enough — thanks to the level jump in melodious songwriting — for the average fan and complex enough to leave musicians in a state of wonderment.

As individualistic as this collection of songs may be, there is an underlying sonorous thread that seems to tie everything together. Book ends "Nunc Fluens" and "Nunc Stans" contribute to that effect. The opening track is the sound of rebirth, rising from the depths, as Reinert's tribal drumming builds to a dulcet vocal and ultimately a charming riff from Masvidal, signaling the arrival of CYNIC's second coming. It is on "The Space for This" and especially highlight "Evolutionary Sleeper" on which the band's musical growth is most apparent. Both demonstrate a heightened sense of melody, not the least of which is due to Masvidal's new and improved silky vocals. The contrast of mellow flow and explosive, yet controlled, composition is most apparent when one hears the light picking and sweet croon that builds to shimmering chords and the active percussiveness of Reinert on "The Space for This" or something as simple as the addictive chorus of "Evolutionary Sleeper".

While the vocoder is long gone, Masvidal does use an effect from time to time that he calls the "android." The vocals are but one part of a dense tapestry where every nuance, every flavor, is meticulously placed for maximum impact. As alluded to above, the juxtaposition of seemingly disparate elements works amazingly well, one example being the pairing of growls and clean singing on "Integral Birth", the raw edges marrying the pristine beauty. Incidentally, it is the kind of thing one hears from the work of SCULPTURED, surely students of the CYNIC school.

The attention to detail grows ever stronger with each spin of the disc. It could be the nectarous solo on "The Unknown Guest" or the initially startling, but eventually fitting, chant of "Om Shrim Maha Lakshmiyei Swaha Om" on "The Unknown Guest" or the soothing vocals of Amy Correia and the closing section of jazzy picking on "King of Those Who Know".

Some layer music for the sake of complexity. CYNIC does it with purpose and with an ear to allowing the listener to discover new treasures as the digging gets deeper. I'd not be surprised to find more than a handful of reviewers rating "Traced in Air" as high as 9.5 or 10. I can't go quite that high, probably because I'm more appreciative of the music than fanatical, but "Traced in Air" is most worthy of being considered one of the year's best albums.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).