"Tools of Destruction"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Tool of the Devil
02. Without Wings
03. Liquid of the Kings
04. I will come again
05. Welcome to the Real
06. The Last Song
07. Another Time
08. Feed the Fire
09. Weight of the World
10. Land of Innocence

RATING: 5.5/10

I like melodic hard rock and metal as much as the next guy (or gal). Shit, I even like some of the traditional '80s stuff; you know, the cheesy, pop-flavored fare. That doesn't mean that I like every band and I sure as hell don't respect all of it. Regardless, I realize that not every group strives to be DREAM THEATER or OPETH, nor intends to use success in a band as a launching pad for drum/guitar clinics or instructional home videos. That said, on "Tools of Destruction", Finland's THUNDERSTONE apparently seeks to offer its fans a very melodic brand of hard rock and metal that is easy to digest. It's not necessarily power metal (although there are elements of that); it's more like a mix of '80s/'90s commercial arena rock and straightforward melody-laced metal (bits of Joe Lynn Turner-era RAINBOW and WHITESNAKE's most commercial material come to mind, for example).

I suppose "Tools of Destruction" will appeal to fans of a more accessible strain of metal, one that includes keyboards as a primary instrument and choruses that crowds can sing in unison at the shows. Now that doesn't mean the guitars are left behind (not in the least); there's plenty of crunch here. In fairness, songs like the epic (well, kind of) "Land of Innocence" do have something more to offer, though not much. The quicker-paced tracks, such as "Without Wings", "Feed the Fire", "Weight of the World", and "Liquid of the Kings", are mostly adequate hard rockers; the drumming features lots of double-bass and a tough delivery, and I heard a little Ronnie James Dio in Pasi Rantanen's strong vocals. With lyrics like these (from "Feed the Fire"), it's hard not to cringe though: "I'm flying ever higher/on the wings of desire/flying too close to the wire." Most of the rest of the material is cliché and heavy on the sap. "Welcome to the Real" is second-rate WHITESNAKE, "Another Time" is the quintessential (and weak) ballad…you get the picture. I've heard much worse and most of this is at least mediocre, but it's not one I'll be revisiting.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).