"To Walk a Middle Course"


01. In Memory
02. Fractured
03. Train of Thought
04. Motion and Presence
05. Welcome Mat To an Abandoned Life
06. Bottom Line
07. Eyes Closed From Birth
08. Shatter the Clock
09. Phantoms
10. Crashing Slow

RATING: 6/10

Much ballyhooed for their ability to mix crust, hardcore and metal, and for having three vocalists, KYLESA are all about throwing murky riffs, bottom-of-a-well screams, and lugubrious rhythms into a dour punk stew that name-checks everyone from old NEUROSIS to AMEBIX to EYEHATEGOD to UNSANE as it burbles and clatters downhill.

After a few tracks, KYLESA's zanily unpredictable mishmash of sound becomes… well… predictable. You'll get the idea after ten minutes — this sort of dirty, dreadlocked psychedelia blown out of the basement of an abandoned punk squat, hoarsely shouted, with riffs that sound apocalyptic in a blown-tube-amp kind of way. "Bottom Line" is a nice, catchy, streamlined oasis amid the murk (bonus points for it sounding like forgotten Texan weirdoes BRUTAL JUICE), but then it's back to fused-together riffs with awkward time changes and hookless bludgeoning.

This is all sounding pretty negative, but the thing is, KYLESA aren't bad at all, in small doses. It's nice to hear a band unafraid to get their punk in their metal, and the claustrophobic homogeneity of the riffing (see 16 and FUDGE TUNNEL, two other bands produced by KYLESA producer Alex Newport) has a kind of gutter charm to it — again, for a while. It takes a lot less than this album's 40 minute running time for it to turn into a pile of noisy yelling, though.

Part of the reason "Bottom Line" sticks out is because it's somewhat concise, and seems to have a beginning and an end. Too much of the rest of "To Walk a Middle Course" just meanders a bit too much for my taste. There are good parts here and there, and you have to have scads of respect for the band's nose-to-the-grindstone integrity, but man, when am I ever gonna bust this out and listen to it again? Go see 'em at a basement near you, and buy a t-shirt instead.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).