"Those Whom The Gods Detest"

(Nuclear Blast)

01. Kafir!
02. Hittite Dung Incantation
03. Utterances of the Crawling Dead
04. Those Whom the Gods Detest
05. 4th Arra of Dagon
06. Permitting the Noble Dead to Descend to the Underworld
07. Yezd Desert Ghul Ritual in the Abandoned Towers of Silence
08. Kem Khefa Kheshef
09. The Eye of Ra
10. Iskander D'hul Karnon

RATING: 8.5/10

It seems that every time an artist is interviewed about his or her newest piece of work, they're quick to call the effort their "best yet," or be otherwise complimentary towards the album. After all, nobody in their right mind would doubt themselves in the faces of their fans and every musician strives to evolve and grow with every passing year. This sort of talk has become typical press fodder and I think most of us would rather form our own, unbiased opinions. This is why, when I read that NILE guitarist/vocalist Karl Sanders called the band's sixth album their "most eclectic offering to date," I took the comment with a grain of salt. For one, NILE has long been (in my opinion) one of death metal's most eclectic acts, at least in regards to their ability to push the genre to its limits with their exotic slant. Secondly, I just wanted the new album to kick ass. After being destroyed by "Ithyphallic" and seeing this band finally get the chance to reach a wider audience thanks to their spot on the '07 Ozzfest, it was a no-brainer that they would have to bring their A-game to keep the momentum going. Goddamn if they didn't deliver.

Not only does "Those Whom The Gods Detest" feature some of the most culturally diverse flavorings we've heard from NILE, but the disc also boasts some of the most progressive and focused examples of songwriting I've heard from any death metal album this year. With guitars that roar like a beast from another world, Sanders and Dallas Toller-Wade (who also plays bass on the album) tear through the monolithic opener "Kafir!" Classic NILE technicality mixed with plodding brutality and samples of Islamic prayer to drive the song's subject matter, this is one hell of a way to start an album. More straightforward tracks like "Hittite Dung Incantation" and "Permitting The Noble Dead To Descend To The Underworld" prove that few are equal to NILE when it comes to delivering a flawless performance on disc. The already renowned feet of drummer George Kollias fly faster and hit harder than ever, while Toller-Wade and Sanders' growls are often legible, yet never lacking in ferocity. The disc's longer tracks, "4th Arra Of Dagon" and the title track (both clocking in at over eight minutes) see Sanders make good on his promise to deliver a left-of-center piece of work. Both tunes bring an exotic array of instruments to the table, as well as run through a wide spectrum of tempo changes as dynamics. Strap yourself in for an epic ride with this pair of songs.

While "Annihilation Of The Wicked" will probably stand out as a favorite amongst the NILE faithful, the work they've done since that album has been equally impressive on many levels. "Those Whom The Gods Detest" is not a huge departure from anything this band has done in the past, but it is, perhaps, their most progressive release thus far. Like any high-caliber death metal album should, this disc is complex enough to challenge its listeners, yet brutal enough to give them an excuse to go nuts.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).