"Those Once Loyal"

(Metal Blade)

01. At First Light
02. Entrenched
03. The Killchain
04. Granite Wall
05. Those Once Loyal
06. Anti-Tank (Dead Armour)
07. Last Stand of Humanity
08. Salvo
09. When Cannons Fade

RATING: 7/10

One of the things reviewers use to fill space when talking about long-running bands is how the new album differs from the band's back catalog. BOLT THROWER bulldoze that path with the subtlety of a howitzer shell — they hit a stride around "Realm of Chaos", in 1989, and they haven't shown too much interest in deviating from it since then. Some call it stagnation, others tenacity, and the band themselves don't seem to care much either way. They get together every few years, lay down another nine tracks of stately, martial, it-is-what-it-is death metal, and reaffirm their unique place in the pantheon.

It's tempting to grasp onto straws and look for innovations — is bassist Jo Bench showboating a little in the chorus of "Entrenched"? Layering of two different guitar parts in "The Killchain"? A more midtempo approach all around? It's all minor talking points – the BOLT THROWER of 2005 is a little cleaner and more precise, without former drummer Andy Whale's clattering, off-time fills and sledgehammer approach. But these songs would fit, with minor adjustment, on 1990's "War Master".

BOLT THROWER's war-themed death metal anthems are anachronistic in the way new OBITUARY songs are — elder statesmen of the scene stubbornly sticking to their guns, not caring how the rest of the world does it, mightily pleasing a base of old-school fans without reaching out to too many new heads. Luckily for those of us who want to support the band, but might start wondering if we really need another song like "The Killchain" (that fade-in opening they've used for "Cenotaph", "World Eater", etc.), they seem to convene about three times a decade, tops. BOLT THROWER is one of those bands where you could probably get by with one album in your collection ("… For Victory" barely edges out "War Master"), but you just feel better about life knowing you have their entire arsenal within arm's reach.

Steamrolling war metal for 20-sided dice rollers and History Channel documentary buffs — if you've heard 'em before, you know what to expect, and you know the quality, if not the originality, is always there. As the band themselves put it, "in a world of compromise… some don't."


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).