"The Unforgiving"


01. Why Not Me
02. Shot In The Dark
03. In The Middle Of The Night
04. Faster
05. Fire And Ice
06. Iron
07. Where Is The Edge
08. Sinéad
09. Lost
10. Murder
11. A Demon's Fate
12. Stairway To The Skies

RATING: 6.5/10

Female-fronted, commercially appealing symphonic metal with a visually striking, golden-throated vocalist… Sound familiar? That's because whether you've heard anything from WITHIN TEMPTATION, you've definitely heard the style of music on "The Unforgiving". The specific genre identifier is largely irrelevant here, as the four legs of the "The Unforgiving" table are (1) pop-based melodies; (2) metal in riff only; (3) lush keyboard atmospheric; and (4) the siren song of Sharon den Adel. That's pretty much all that is required to guarantee that "The Unforgiving" sells well and is embraced by the surprising number of North American fans that dig the style.

Can any of that be considered a "bad" thing? That depends on your tastes, but only the most subjective fan would argue that the WITHIN TEMPTATION sound is somehow progressive or creative. In fact, until you've settled into a groove with this album (about the fourth song in) "The Unforgiving" can seem damningly generic. What one soon discovers though is the formula works better than expected and if the first few songs don't grab you, eventually you'll succumb and admit that at least a couple of choruses are difficult to banish from the brain. You'll probably hear the most about "Shot in the Dark", "In the Middle of the Night", and "Where is the Edge", all of which are as single-worthy as they are nearly interchangeable from a formulaic point of view. The ones that you may not hear about initially — "Sinéad" and "Murder" – end up being two of the songs that offer a more gripping listening experience. "Sinéad" may be the best of the bunch for its soaring chorus and "Murder" succeeds for the tragedy and tension conveyed. "Demons' Fate" is rather catchy as well.

If you care enough about the WITHIN TEMPTATION approach, then you'll appreciate that it is a concept album based on a Steven O'Connell comic book written specifically for it. Each song basically mirrors the comic's narrative. The melodies are well enough written to keep one's interest and the classiness of the recording is hard to ignore. "The Unforgiving" is a better than average album for "metal" of this sort, but the stuff of critical acclaim it is not. Dedicated fans will no doubt find a deep musical well that is difficult for the casual fans to locate. That's par for the course. Overall, it is a good experience. It is also a fleeting one.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).