"The Sun Comes Out Tonight"


01. We Hate It When You Get What You Want
02. What Do You Say
03. Surprise
04. Watch The Sun Come Out Tonight
05. It's Got To Be Right Now
06. This Finger's For You
07. Self Inflicted
08. First You Break It
09. Burn It
10. Take That Knife Out Of My Back
11. It's My Time
12. It's Just You

RATING: 8/10

There's nothing wrong with pop in hard music, as long as it's done with any kind of heart. After all, the RAMONES were quintessential pop rockers on top of punk icons. Richard Patrick has always been bipolar when it comes to his FILTER projects. Almost as if to prove a point, he struck gold with the sugary swinger "Take a Picture" on 1999's "Title of Record" to counter the steamrolling success of his brackish ripper "Hey Man, Nice Shot" four years earlier on "Short Bus".

Since then, every FILTER album as of 2002's "The Amalgamut" has comprised of rhythmic rockers and wistful softies. The main differentiation between each recording has been the personnel Richard Patrick has surrounded himself with, not to mention whatever ever mood has dictated over him.

The last FILTER album "The Trouble With Angels" was the right step forward out of the protest-minded ambivalence of 2007's "Anthems from the Damned". Still coming off as angry as hopeful on "Angels", this time around, Richard Patrick gets real. He allies himself with former KILL HANNAH guitarist Jonny Radtke and the results of "The Sun Comes Out Tonight" produce the most confident and infectious FILTER joint since "Title of Record".

Read into the fussy bitching of the opening number "We Hate it When You Get What You Want" as you will. Whether or not Richard Patrick still has a row to settle with his former boss in NINE INCH NAILS or the rant is intended towards someone else altogether, the smarmy kvetching of "We Hate it When You Get What You Want" rips Patrick's shackles gone. One shakes their head as Patrick throws down his obscene tirade, but at the same time, the electro groove whumping behind the thick, concentrated guitars is hard to pass on.

Now as a duo for all intents and purposes, Patrick and Jonny Radtke employ drum machines, synths and mixers along with the more organic instruments, yet the songwriting is so bloody sharp on "The Sun Comes Out Tonight" they sell the illusion of a full house band. Even when hijacking the primary bass rolling scheme of "Hey Man, Nice Shot" not once but twice on this record with "What Do You Say" and "Self Inflected", there are enough power pumps jacking the choruses of each the attitude rings well-opposite of the former.

Radtke appears to have reignited Patrick's passion on this album and "The Sun Comes Out Tonight" has no shame mingling in the guilty pleasure pills of the dreamy "Surprise", "It's Just You" and "First You Break It". While FILTER does continue to sell respectably on Billboard, there's a sense of integrity to Richard Patrick's aspirant and often vulnerable vocals on his rock lullaby tunes that swerves them away from AOR.

In contrast, the throbbing pulses of "Burn It", "What Do You Say", "This Finger's For You" and "It's Got to Be Right Now" all deserve FM love. Chocked full of rallying "whoa-oh" calls, cruise-minded pound rhythms and singular guitar shoves, these are some of Richard Patrick's most poised vehicles in quite some time. Dark in subject on "This Finger's For You", Patrick reserves his true fang for "Take That Knife Out of My Back" later in the album. Afterwards, Patrick lets his blood spill from the hypothetical gash on the piano ballad "It's My Time", featuring one of Patrick's most soulful vocal performances ever. Better, it serves up the laidback closer "It's Just You", which allows him to croon beautifully on the choruses.

In a less saturated market, "The Sun Comes Out Tonight" would be an automatic. You won't get a better mainstream rock album for your bucks this year, that's a guarantee. Jonny Radtke not only pulled Richard Patrick out of his ruts, he helped engineer one hell of a comeback that would mean everything with less competition.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).