"The Politics of Ecstasy"

(Century Media reissue)

01. The Seven Tongues of God
02. This Sacrament
03. Next in Line
04. Passenger
05. The Politics of Ecstasy
06. Lost
07. The Tiananmen Man
08. Precognition (Instrumental)
09. 42147
10. The Learning
11. Love Bites (bonus)

RATING: 8.5/10

A decade ago Seattle's NEVERMORE released an album that would be the first of several demonstrating its truly unique blend of heavy power/thrash/death metal, gloriously dark melody, and intelligent lyrical content. 1995's self-titled debut and the "In Memory" EP hinted at the massive potential that existed with the band, but it was "The Politics of Ecstasy" that would begin to solidify the group's standing as a world power in extreme metal. All three albums have now been re-released with bonus material. "The Politics of Ecstasy" includes the bonus cover of JUDAS PRIEST's "Love Bites" that is given an extra spooky work over by the group. A video for "Next in Line" and new liner notes from Martin Popoff, which includes quotes from vocalist Warrel Dane, are also presented. The Perry Cunningham remastering brings the textures out a bit more, though the original Neil Kernon treatment wasn't exactly weak in the first place.

The new heights reached by the band on the album are apparent from the opening notes of "The Seven Tongues of God". The incredibly fat guitars and accomplished soloing of long-timer Jeff Loomis and Pat O'Brien (who left afterward to join CANNIBAL CORPSE), as well as Jim Sheppard's bass clangor and Van Williams powerful drumming, are damn near orgasmic. Warrel Dane's edgy, often despondent, and masterfully tuneful vocals seem to transcend what a mere vocal pattern can bring. His passion throughout is breathtaking.

It is on "This Sacrament" though that the band's expansive dark melody on the chorus and one hell of a main groove on the verse is first heard. Live staple "Next in Line" features more of the same, and there is just something about the manner in which Dane shouts "I don't want to be saaaaved! I'm Next in Line to Die" that sticks with you in a way that is both catchy and haunting as hell. The slow and brooding "Passenger" pulls one deep into the abyss, a vibe that is heard on the title track as well, that is, until a furious thrash riff and speedy tempo kicks in around the 3:00 mark. The soloing on the latter cut cuts deep and bleeds profusely. "Lost", "42147" and "The Tiananmen Man" are classic NEVERMORE mid-to-up tempo stompers that burst at the seams with O'Brien/Loomis guitar fire. A quiet break and slowing of the tempo during one section of "42147" serves to build tension before the band re-launches into power drive. The lyrics to "The Tiananmen Man" tell of government tyranny and one man's defiance in the face of certain death as the world watched the tragedy that struck in 1989 China. A nicely done acoustic interlude called "Precognition" and the nine-minute, epic closer "The Learning" round out the album.

People still debate how exactly one should categorize the NEVERMORE sound, my desperate stab at dark, heavy and melodic power/thrash/death metal included. Perhaps "the NEVERMORE sound" is the only appropriate way of describing the style of this hugely talented and influential band. That "The Politics of Ecstasy" does not sound dated in the least and continues to stimulate the mind and excite the senses as much as it did 10 years ago speaks volumes, as does the debate in this writer's mind concerning whether 8.5/10 is high enough. Then again, the band continued topping itself with "Dreaming Neon Black", "Dead Heart in Dead World", and last year's phenomenal "This Godless Endeavor". We'll call it another great NEVERMORE album and leave it at that.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).