"The Middle of Nowhere"


01. In the Life
02. All that Remains
03. Open Season
04. Holding On
05. Cynical Ride
06. Hollow
07. Psycho Motor
08. Faces in the Dark
09. The Middle of Nowhere
10. Lost

RATING: 8/10

It's not easy leaving a band like SAVATAGE after an eight-year run, but former vocalist Zachary Stevens didn't waste any time forming another first-rate melodic metal project with CIRCLE II CIRCLE. The 2003 debut album, "Watching in Silence", was made of AOR-style melodies, power metal shades, and progressive metal flavors. The same can be said for "The Middle of Nowhere", though it's hardly the same album with a different title.

The hooks are again superior, just not quite as over-the-top as the material on "Watching in Silence". The guitars are crunchier and the tuneful solos even better this time around. The chunky and rumbling bass lines add texture as well. Along with the thick riffs, the four-string heft and crisp drumming gives the arrangements a muscular feel. Once again Jon Oliva provides arrangement assistance, proving once again that "filler" is not a word in the guy's vocabulary. The first half of the album features the most memorable melodies, the choruses hitting with much the same impact as was heard on the debut. Beginning with the ballad-esque "In the Life" and cruising on through catchy nuggets like "All that Remains", "Open Season", "Holding On", and "Cynical Ride", the first batch of infectious choruses is guaranteed to make the biggest impression. Other listeners may prefer the mellower fare of the title track with its majestic vocal harmonies, or perhaps the acoustic beauty of album-closer "Lost". Add to those two tracks the grittier, riff-driven fare of "Hollow" and "Psycho Motor", not to mention the brooding grandeur of "Faces in the Dark", and one might say the album's latter half is more mature and musically varied than "Side A." And of course Stevens' vocals are dynamite! Why would it be any different this time?

What we have here is a great example of metal backbone and outstanding pop sensibility. Ten excellent tracks and ten reasons to play "The Middle of Nowhere" over and over again.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.