"The Machinations of Dementia"


01. Synaptic Plasticity
02. Laser Lobotomy
03. Brain Fingerprinting
04. Oscillation Cycles
05. Activation Synthesis Theory
I. Is There A Dead Guy Under The Bed?
II. Monsters In My Closet
III. Flight In Space
IV. Spiderchase
V. Suffocation
VI. Quicksand
06. REM
07. Night Terror
08. Bleeding In The Brain
09. Vegetation
10. Narcolepsy
11. EEG Tracings
12. Sleep Deprivation
13. The Insomniac
14. Amnesia
15. Adenosine Breakdown
16. Adenosine Buildup

RATING: 7.5/10

Most fans of virtuoso shredders are surely familiar with the "other" Texas guitar god Ron Jarzombek and his work in WATCHTOWER, SPASTIC INK, and GORDIAN KNOT. Yeah, the guy's got a devoted following among the tech-heads. The mad scientist's new invention from deep within the confines of his diabolical laboratory is "The Machinations of Dementia", an instrumental album from a project called BLOTTED SCIENCE. The trio consists of Jarzombek, CANNIBAL CORPSE bass master Alex Webster, and BEHOLD…THE ARCTOPUS' member, drummer Charlie Zeleny (who entered after both Derek Roddy and LAMB OF GOD's Chris Adler bailed out). The result is a technically proficient, musically stimulating, and sometimes teeth-rattling affair.

Now let's be honest, all but the most devoted fans of the almighty shred can only stomach guitar-based instrumental albums for so long. After all, "wow, he can really shred" only takes one so far. Fortunately, "The Machinations of Dementia" ends up offering more for the discerning fan, including those that have no formal drum/bass/guitar training. That's not to say that at 16 tracks, one doesn't need to be in a certain frame of mind to stay with this one from beginning to end. Still, the album is an awfully riveting listen. In other words, this stuff sounds cool.

Of course, the defining element is Jarzombek's super fast, tech-death/thrash riffing. His flashy fretwork is especially noteworthy against the backdrop of the Webster/Zeleny angular rhythms and staccato bursts. And yes, Webster's bass licks sound fantastic, especially when Jarzombek's guitar drops out and Alex is left to fill the space with a flurry of notes in a style that is distinctively his. A jazzy undercurrent is present as well, a fact that will surprise no one.

If it is a track by track, theory-based dissection of thee album that you seek, then you may want to check in with another reviewer. What I can tell you is that I've spun "The Machinations of Dementia" many times and I can honestly say I've never once found it unbearably jarring or intolerably boring. Sure, it's still a very technical instrumental album, but it's an entertaining one. It's one I'd probably even purchase had I not already gotten it free of charge.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).