"The Ichthyologist"


01. Panthalassa
02. La Brea Tar Pits
03. Sutterville
04. Dead Man Slough
05. Throwing A Donner Party At Sea
06. Sevengill
07. Mormon Island
08. Blue Linckia
09. Emerald Bay
10. Rubicon Wall

RATING: 8.5/10

In a sense, the eclectic collective known as GIANT SQUID is as mysterious and elusive as the lore-inspiring creature from which they took their name. Dwelling beneath the watery cloak of the ocean's depths, the over-sized cephalopod has managed to escape the clutches of science since the dawn of man's exploration. Similarly, the beast's land-dwelling namesake have done well to avoid being pigeon-holed or labeled by critics and fans alike by never settling on one definable "sound." Yet, through their ambiguity, they've managed to remain consistently true to themselves as musicians and songwriters. In other words, GIANT SQUID is a band that can only be defined as GIANT SQUID.

Conceptualized around a graphic novel written by guitarist/vocalist/keyboardist, Aaron Gregory, "The Ichthyologist" finds GIANT SQUID taking full advantage of their diverse array of instrumentation and influences as they bring together elements of jazz, doom, classical, prog and post-metal with unique perspective. Capturing the story's premise of a man left with nothing but the solitude of sea before him, the disc spirals through many level of loneliness; continually ebbing and flowing in terms of mood and musical dynamics. It's from this brooding core that GIANT SQUID reaches out to the world with an array of outstretched arms; some quirky and wandering, some melodious (often in disturbing ways) and others are simply heavy as hell. From the exotic opening moments of "Panthalassa", where Gregory and cellist Jackie Perez Gratz swirl around one another with the fluidity of river rushing into sea, GIANT SQUID begins a journey as epic as the vast expanses that have long inspired the guitarist's writings. Recalling memories of their breakthrough release, "Metridium Fields", "La Brea Tar Pits" rumbles the ocean floor with crushing and doomy chords topped with Gratz's moody strings and an odd little Arabic melody played on a banjo of all instruments. Said tune would be a perfect companion to the SABBATH-y undertones of "Throwing A Donner Party At Sea" (featuring Karyn Crisis) were the two not strategically separated by the jazz-tainted and mellow "Sutterville" and "Dead Man Slough". Containing the album's heaviest and most beautiful moments, "Sevengill" sees Gregory not only dancing a hypnotic waltz with his cellist, but with the song's guest vocalist, Anneke Van Giersbergen (THE GATHERING) as well; the latter's angelic qualities a perfect companion to the former's arid croon. Where the song's first half serves to lull and entrance, the snarling and monolithic end screams for vengeance at the ears of whoever is listening. After such an explosive climax, the immediate return to stark minimalist melody with "Mormon Island" takes a bit of cerebral adjustment, as does the next transition into the experimentally heavy "Blue Linckia". Repeated listens and proper attention to this ebb and flow reveal the intention behind this album, and that is to keep the listener guessing and the allure constant until the closing notes of "Rubicon Wall" fade into silence.

Again repeating the elusive behavior of nature's giant squid, "The Ichthyologist" may very well go down as one of the best albums you'll never own as this independent release has thus far been limited to 1,000 copies. Sure, this exclusivity would probably see GIANT SQUID's cult credentials skyrocket, it honestly would be a shame to think that this provocative and expressive piece of music was kept from the ears of what could easily become a huge fanbase.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.