"The Empires of the World"


01. Enemy Within
02. The Empires of the World
03. Assaulter
04. Relinquished Enemy
05. Long Time Dead
06. Regenerated
07. DNA Metastasis
08. Survival
09. Existenz
10. Truth Denied
11. Part I: Final Offence
12. Part II: From the Abyss
13. Part III: Absolution
14. Part IV: Disintegration

RATING: 8.5/10

Where have these guys been hiding? How could such a crushing and creative classic/modern heavy metal band have alluded me? The band is BIOMECHANICAL and they've been rolling down the streets of London, toppling buildings and trampling the inhabitants like a British Godzilla. Now that Earache is about to unleash "The Empires of the World" on the rest of humanity, Armageddon is not far off.

Take the best moments of JUDAS PRIEST, NEVERMORE, and PANTERA, throw in film score orchestration, and what you end up with is "The Empires of the World". I was knocked off balance initially by the band's over-the-top blockbuster movie soundtrack effects, the coupling of it with such a jarring metallic approach overwhelming me. Therein lies the beauty though, as the "The Empires of the World" offers so much to the listener with each spin of the disc that it's impossible to absorb it all in one sitting. Far from sounding dated, the band's epic coating and challenging arrangements, as well as Andy Sneap's always crisp and vicious production, turns the album into one that is both exciting and violent. John K's vocals are so versatile and powerful that once again I couldn't help but recall the delivery of a Dane, Halford, or Anselmo, often all three. From the manic and chaotically fast tracks ("Truth Denied", "Assaulter") to the more dramatic/involved pieces ("Relinquished Destiny", "Long Time Dead", and the four-part "Absolution"), the work of BIOMECHANICAL takes the head-banging excellence of the masters and combines it with its own frenzied and modern application.

There are so many points on this album when the hairs stood up on the back of my neck and the adrenaline flowed as memories of the devastation I felt from "Vulgar/Driven" PANTERA, "Vengeance/Painkiller" PRIEST, and "Neon Black/Dead Heart" NEVERMORE came rushing back. I haven't heard an album in quite some time that takes everything I love about the vintage work of said bands and adds layer upon layer of creativity and freshness. Now THIS is British Steel!


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).