"Tales of Rock 'N' Roll"


01. The Ride
02. Setting Sun
03. Angel Of Avalon
04. Dreams Inside
05. Dust To Dust
06. Voice Of My Heart
07. Journey Man
08. Big Deal
09. St. Ann
10. Shadow Lady
11. Love Trade
12. Human Child
13. Bitter Sweet
14. Blind Alley
15. Freedom
16. Life Vacation
17. Rock 'N' Roll
18. Tell A Story
19. Life Goes On

RATING: 6/10

Considering the U.S. release date was August 1st and the disc arrived sometime thereafter, the review arrives a tad late. But hey, it's the MICHAEL SCHENKER GROUP, so better late than never. After 25 years (not counting the early UFO/SCORPIONS work), the German guitar god can still squeeze out a phenomenal batch of weepy chords, pulsating riffs, and passionate solos. Schenker has the chops, but his style has always been one of true feeling. It is a skill set that cannot be taught or explained; it comes straight from the soul. You can hear it all over this 19-track collection that features new singer Jari Tiura on the majority of tracks, as well contributions from all past MSG vocalists, including Graham Bonnet, Gary Barden, Robin McAuley, Kelly Keeling, Leif Sundin, and Chris Logan. UFO madman bassist Pete Way and RACER X drummer Jeff Martin also contribute. As it turns out, Schenker would have been better off turning over vocal duties on all tracks to the alumni and leaving Tiura out of it. The rookie's vocal pattern and pronunciation issues water down or damage too many otherwise decent tracks.

Very few of the Tiura tracks leave much of an impression. The catchy immediacy and soulful groove of 2003's "Arachnophobiac" is largely missing from "Tales of Rock 'N' Roll". It is of course Schenker's guitar work that keeps the Tiura-treated tunes from suffering too much. Songs like "The Ride" are quite strong; the mid-tempo cut smokes, grooves, and includes a break that is vaguely reminiscent of MOTT THE HOOPLE. A little boogie and R&B graces the acceptable "Setting Sun", while songs like "Voice of My Heart", "Dust to Dust", "Journeyman", "St. Ann", and "Love Trade", are just OK, Schenker's flame-throwing notwithstanding. "Human Child" and "Bitter Sweat" are weak, while "Shadowy Lady" is just bad (mainly due to Tiura's subpar performance). It's a shame, as the guitar work and Schenker-isms on a song like "Bitter Sweet" sound great, but Tiura just kills it. A better, more commanding, vocal delivery would have made a huge difference here, as there is nothing patently wrong with the instrumentation on most of these compositions.

The songs with guest vocalists range from above average to pretty damn good. When the Sundin-sung "Angel of Avalon" arrives at the track three spot, the quality level soars. It is a chunky-riffed strut with a little Paul Rodgers swing and an infectious chorus. The melodic and heartfelt "Dreams Inside" is vintage Schenker with a moving Logan vocal. Gary Barden and Graham Bonnet shine on two near classics, the wonderfully melodious "Life Vacation" and "Rock 'N' Roll", respectively. "Big Deal" falls dangerously close to mediocre, even with a more than acceptable performance from Kelly Keeling. Robin McAuley does just fine on "Tell a Story", but it too is just above average.

As a longtime Schenker fan, I'd love to give this one a 7 or 7.5, but the abundance of Tiura tracks drag down the rating. However, I would have no problem recommending the album to MSG fans, mainly because they'll buy damn near anything the guy puts out. I'd buy it too. Lots of fiery guitar work and several strong arrangements, several bad vocal performances and a handful of strong vocal performances basically sum up "Tales of Rock 'N' Roll: Twenty-Five Years Celebration". The 6 pains me too.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).