"Sonic Firestorm"


01. My Spirit Will Go On
02. Fury of the Storm
03. Fields of Despair
04. Dawn Over a New World
05. Above the Winter Moonlight
06. Soldiers of the Wasteland
07. Prepare for War
08. Once In a Lifetime

RATING: 7/10

If you're big on impassioned warbling, fluttering keyboards and perma-galloping rhythms, the question is why go for DRAGONFORCE's second album specifically? Can it bring fresh joys to your record collection? The answer is, well, yes, although not — in the spirit of this breed of dramatic metal — a resounding yes to be trumpeted from the rooftops.

As bands go, the London-based sextet are hugely multinational (hailing from Hong Kong, South Africa, the Ukraine and indeed England), but they might as well be all- Italian or Finnish. Because "Sonic Firestorm" is RHAPSODY, LABYRINTH, STRATOVARIUS and all that jazz, albeit played with their own discernibly feisty spirit.

For the opening three tracks here, DRAGONFORCE manage to bundle such comparisons to the back of your conscience and let their quality do the talking. The seven-minutes-fifty-three opening track "My Spirit Will Go On" (mp3) is pure melodic honey in the speed metal sense, with some very cool and lofty keyboard duelling at the midway point and prominent verse/chorus harmonies from vocalist Z.P. Teart. Follow-on "Fury Of The Storm" seems to spark off guitar fireworks of an even more audacious nature, and immediately after there's "Fields Of Despair", which is in simple terms an amalgamation of the previous two. So far, so good, so epic.

Then it's all brought crashing rudely back down to earth by that which riddles the corpses of so many albums across the rock/metal spectrum: the ill-advised power ballad. Admittedly there have been some passable ones down the years, but DRAGONFORCE's "Dawn Over A New World" is far from being one of them. In the softer mid-range Theart's voice is as bland as cardboard, and the wistful piano behind him as grey as a Siberian winter.

Story continues after advertisement

They do pick up the reins again with the flashy "Soldiers Of The Wasteland" (another keyboard-thrashing flash of speed), to name but one, but none of what follows is quite up to the mark of the galloping pre-ballad tracks. That they again throw in yet another soupy ballad just before the end ("Prepare For War") almost throws a pail of water on the band at their rampant best.

Clearly DRAGONFORCE are leagues above some of the squealing dross that lurks in the lower reaches of the melodic power metal scene. But they could do no worse than lay off the soft stuff.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).