(Nuclear Blast)

01. 66 (Intro)
02. Sick
03. Floating on High
04. For God
05. Continue from this Point
06. Crawl
07. Rewind it All (Death or Glory)
08. Lost in Time
09. Try
10. Edges
11. Mental Signpost
12. To Atone for All

RATING: 6/10

Described as a death metal band early on and morphing into more of a slow groove melodic crusher, on "66Sick" Germany's DISBELIEF have settled into a style that's got more in common with the down-tuned stomp of modern (bordering on "nu") metal, as well as a little doom. Yes, it's true, the rubbery thick riffs and big bottom are rather "nu" sounding at times (listen to "Sick" and tell me you don't hear KORN). To avoid giving the diehards aneurysms though, let's just say that the grooves tend to run slow and thick like molasses, the layered riffs are dense, and the vocals are of the growly and constipated variety.

The Tue Madsen (THE HAUNTED, MNEMIC, EXMORTEM) production has a lot do with the sheer heft of the mix. At almost 50 minutes though, the low-end suffocating effect begins to bog the album down. The few tunes with up-tempo rhythms (in whole or in part), such as "For God" and "Crawl", help the album's flow immensely. The best material is front-loaded, "Floating on High", "Continue from this Point", and "Rewind It All (Death or Glory)" good examples of the more dynamic end of the band's sullen bulldozing. Seemingly one-dimensional at times, a closer listen does bring out subtle gothic overtones, airy guitar work, atmospheric backing vocals, and quite a few spoken word parts (probably too many).

In the final analysis, "66Sick" comes off a bit sterile, and phrases like "beating a dead horse" entered my mind at a few points along the way. Even so, I really can't say I dislike the disc and I found enough value in it to keep me from panning it.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).