"Save My Soul"


01. Intro
02. Open Your Eyes
03. Save My Soul
04. End in Sight
05. The Key to Creativity
06. In the Wait Loop
07. The Torture
08. Spellbound
09. From a Distance
10. Break the Spell

RATING: 7/10

On "Save My Soul", German prog metal veterans POVERTY'S NO CRIME demonstrate once again a proclivity for infusing its often pop-based melodies with solid, though not spectacular, arrangements. A smoother, less over-the-top, progressive approach and a more rock-oriented sound makes the album a pleasant listening experience that offers a handful of memorable tracks and a nice change of pace from the DREAM THEATER progeny.

"Save My Soul" starts off with a bang. Two of the album's strongest songs, "Open Your Eyes" and the title track, follow the brief "intro." The former is perhaps the standout track, its shimmering poppy chorus and bright instrumentation a great example of the best the band has to offer. The longer (six and a half minutes) title track is a close second. After those two stars, the remainder of the album is strong, but never quite as memorable, with a couple of possible exceptions. The most soothing of the bunch, "The Key to Creativity" is a real beauty that weaves into the mix acoustic guitar and piano, while "In the Wait Loop" features some jazzy organ and very Gilmour-esque (PINK FLOYD) leads. The band brings a marked increased in heaviness (thanks in large part to a fat riff) on "The Torture" and puts a little pep in the step on the decidedly happier "From a Distance". Closing out the album is the nine-minute "Break the Spell", the keyboards sounding phenomenal and the melody one that slowly overtakes the listener.

InsideOut is one of those labels that rarely releases a dud, and "Save My Soul" is a dependable addition to the roster. For one reason or another it just does not quite match the firepower of some of the label's juggernauts, which in this case only means that what is often in the range of an 8 or 9 on the 10 scale ends up a 7. In other words, "Save My Soul" is another very respective progressive metal album.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.