(Everblack Industries/Ferret)

01. The Path to Imminent Ruin
02. My Demise
03. Still I Rise
04. War
05. King Of Nothing
06. The Taste Of Fear
07. Embrace Annihilation
08. Picture Perfect
09. A Public Execution
10. Dead And Gone

RATING: 8.5/10

Were you one of those people that wrote off SHADOWS FALL after the release of their major-label debut, "Threads of Life"? Were you certain that said album marked the band's death knell for metallic relevance? I must admit that I was one of those people. Well, maybe not "written off," but I certainly ceased holding them in high regard or for that matter paying any attention to them. Or maybe I just didn't give "Threads of Life" enough attentive spins (I never ended up reviewing it). Whatever the case, I'm here to tell you that SHADOWS FALL is back and better than ever. "Retribution" is a blockbuster American metal album and demonstrates that the band not only kicks copious amounts of ass, but also includes within its ranks some of the best players and songwriters in the business.

On "Retribution", SHADOWS FALL sounds like a band with a chip on its collective shoulder and something to prove, almost as if to reply to the naysayers with a resounding "Not so fast; we ain't dead, ya know!" It is an album made of those distinctively thick 'n thrashy riffs, as well as Brian Fair's mighty roar and increasingly versatile voice. It is also an album that deftly balances infectious melodies with monstrous aggression. Much of that aggression has to do with the sheer number of great riffs from Matt Bachand and Jonathan Donais. As with any great guitar-based heavy metal album, Donais' solos reach 90th percentile heights in both skill and ferocity. Finally, the dexterity and fleet footedness of Jason Bittner continues to be largely unmatched.

The songs are smartly arranged, while the melodies are deep and impacting without ever seeming contrived over slickly commercial. You need only listen to "My Demise" — the first proper song after acoustic intro "The Path to Imminent Ruin" — once to know that the band has returned to reclaim the modern metal throne. It is one of a handful of lengthy tracks that is brilliantly composed, catchy as hell, vocally diverse (barks, growls, cleans, etc), and crunchier than your mom' peanut brittle. The same goes with "Still I Rise", which is most representative of SHADOWS FALL's uniquely melodic style.

Ah hell, we're only up to the fourth track here, "War" (which happens to be the album's heaviest, balls to the wall brawler) and I'm realizing that it is pointless to continue the track-by-track analysis because each one is deserving of some level of praise. Sure, "A Public Execution" is a tough tune, but not as tough as "War", and "King of Nothing" (with guest vocals from LAMB OF GOD's Randy Blythe) boasts a melody that is strong, but not as strong as "Picture Perfect"; what matters is that every one of them is good.

Time will tell whether folks consider "Retribution" on par with "The War Within" and "The Art of Balance", but as of this writing I'm thinking that it's right up there with both of them.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).