(Nuclear Blast)

01. Retaliate
02. The Lies That Bind
03. The Great Depression
04. Angst Isst Die Seele Auf
05. Demand the Impossible
06. Order Upheld / Dissent Dissolved
07. Servants of Progress
08. The Unbridgeable Chasm
09. Bottom Feeders
10. History is Rotten
11. Birth of Ignorance

RATING: 7.5/10

Baltimore, Maryland — home to not really anything to speak of lately, save for a few gas-pumping citizens who became swiftly acquainted with their maker. Fellow citizens MISERY INDEX probably aren't about to hide in their car trunks and take pot shots at people, but their mission is almost as vicious.

Blending bare-bones grindcore with the intricacies of MORBID ANGEL, "Retaliate" is everything that this succinct one-word title might hint at, and everything that you might expect from ex-DYING FETUS men Jason Netherton (vocals and bass) and Sparky Voyles (guitar). That, of course, involves the spiralling, twisty-turny riffs on the likes of "Demand The Impossible" and "The Unbridgeable Chasm", plus the tormented vocal roar with a slight John Tardy-esque edge.

What it lacks in songs that don't quite manage to hook into your brain, it compensates with a surging extreme hardcore element that gives "Order Upheld/Dissent Dissolved" a supercharged boot up the rear like DISCHARGE on PCP.

Retaliate? They haven't even started with you yet.

Story continues after advertisement


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).