(Season of Mist)

01. My Blood. My Life. Always Forward
02. Behind Barbed Wire
03. Resistance
04. Modern Day Slaves
05. Warriors On the Road
06. South East Asian Rebels
07. Morality Police
08. Brick Wall Justice
09. Always Walk Alone
10. Constant Struggle
11. It's Coming Down On You
12. Life on the Line
13. No Hope
14. Corazones Intoxicados
15. Soul of Fire (bonus track)
16. Voice of the Outcast

RATING: 8.5/10

Hardcore was once defined by THE EXPLOITED, GBH, MINOR THREAT, DISCHARGE, BAD BRAINS, BROKEN BONES, D.R.I., THE ADOLESCENTS, CIRCLE JERKS, BLACK FLAG and THE SUBHUMANS along with many forgotten punker speed freaks largely operating through the Eighties. Like metal music, punk rock and hardcore faded through the American underground, albeit anytime the BAD BRAINS were up to something, everyone paid attention.

As hardcore and punk were resurrected alongside metal in the late nineties, the ethos was rewritten and not necessarily for the best. No intended dissing on THROWDOWN or TERROR whatsoever, but much of what's followed in their wake has morphed into a form of proto punk bearing a litany of self-empowerment, guilt-tripped straight edge unification and song structures that all but demand breakdown chops. The latter has infiltrated 'core music for far too long. 'Nuff said there.

New York City revivalists THE CASUALTIES have been doing things the right way for more than two decades. It's not mandated they play as relentlessly fast as they do, but because they execute speed with seamless proficiency, they're a heady breath of galvanized air if you spent your teen years bitching against Reagan and Margaret Thatcher and screaming "Oi! Oi! Oi!" in your bedroom. To spin a CASUALTIES album is as close to stepping back into the glory years of hardcore as it is to toss on THE SUBHUMANS' "From the Cradle to the Grave".

Jorge Herrera's raspy yelps are the American equivalent of Wattie from THE EXPLOITED and while that may put some folks off, the purity of Herrera's angst shines through his outraged bellowing. That's but one reason why THE CASUALTIES' eighth album, "Resistance", is the real deal. The merciless velocity is another. If you're not accustomed to constant swiftness on a punk record, you'll be exhausted by the end of "Resistance"'s forty minutes of abusive flogging.

The belligerent snare pounding and hollow floor tom pulverizing by Marc "Meggers" Eggers jacks "Resistance" up while the fluidly moving guitar and bass lines from Jake Kolatis and Rick Lopez are birthed in power and thrash metal as much as they are vintage punk. Loads of gang choruses keep this album's unwavering speed from growing tedious. THE CASUALTIES coax that previously-mentioned unification effect without threatening to knock your teeth out for consuming meat or drinking bourbon. They grumble about politics, religion, posers, outsider persecution and living life with an open mind, the same as customary punk ever did. A gutter gospel version of utopia is what THE CASUALTIES preach, and that consists nothing more than being true to yourself. What more can you ask?

"Behind Barbed Wire", "My Life, My Blood, Always Forever", "Modern Day Slaves", "Warriors of the Road", "South Eastern Asian Rebels", "Morality Police" and "Voice of the Outcast" crank the decibels and fly faster than the final laps of a NASCAR race. Even the agitated empathy engineering "Always Walk Alone" quickly zips into mosh mode after a deceiving slow intro. The title track rings like a traditional Oi jam and you don't have to be a part of the old guard to get it. In one of the few moments "Resistance" takes a quasi-breather, Jorge Herrera screams "Corazones Intoxicados" in Spanish along to a grinding, mid-tempo rock drive and it's just as infectious as the rest of the album, whether you speak the lingo or not.

The only real surprise behind the resurrected anthems of disorder "Resistance" brings to the table is they were commandeered on the console by metalcore king Zeuss. God bless the guy, though, because Zeuss didn't try to water down THE CASUALTIES. Instead, he plays to their strengths and encourages them to stay old school while rubbing in a few extra buffs of polish. "Resistance" is a proud and mutinous album of classic-minded hardcore with zero pisser breakdowns and 100% blazing continuity. THE CASUALTIES may profess there's no hope for their ideals in a world far more complex than which faced the original punk movement, but when the message comes delivered on the swing of a dusted-off sledgehammer, there's plenty of hope after all.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).