01. Besviken Igen
02. Decapitate
03. Hatet
04. Stängda Dörrar
05. Humans own Defeat
06. The Lie
07. Voices
08. Bussen till Helvetet Pt. 1
09. Bussen till Helvetet Pt. 2
10. Defy
11. Selfdenial
12. Die Inside
13. It
14. Reflections

RATING: 7.5/10

There is a ton of grindcore out there right now and it seems I've run into more good than bad this past year or so. Sweden's EXHALE falls firmly into the "good" category. The music on "Prototype", the band's Emetic Records debut (and second release after the 2004 "…Die Inside" demo) is not only ripping, it is varied, entertaining, and often darn catchy. A sound mix that brings out the edge in the riffing and a woofer-busting kick drum attack constitute the icing on the cake.

Stylistically, many won't be surprised that the core sound borrows from NASUM, but more so in the screaming side of Ulf's vocals and the moments of full on blasting. The strength of "Prototype" is found in the band's skill at developing a song, making it interesting for the listener and offering enough of an identity to give him/her a reason to come back for more. Songs like "Decapitate", "Die Inside" and "Selfdenial" are raging and fairly tuneful. The alternating screams and death growls are perfectly executed, making the songs that much more memorable. Mixing Swedish and English lyrics add flavor as well.

There are plenty of opportunities here to enjoy a case of whiplash too, especially when the band stops on a dime and quickly slams into a hard-ass groove. "Humans Own Defeat" is a great example of the group's knack for rattling a few screws loose with up-tempo grindcore bursts and then slamming into a groove that's akin to being grabbed by the throat and thrown to the ground. Gurra's drumming is far from machine-like, his playing full of feeling and his ability to move from eight-armed insanity to in-the-pocket (if ever so briefly) toughness is very well done. The guy's percussive style on "Hatet" is the song's X factor, the textured approach giving the tune a big groovy boot in the ass.

I had no expectation or preconceived notion about EXHALE's "Prototype" and came away rather impressed and thoroughly satisfied. It is obvious that the band puts a lot of work into its arrangements. This isn't to say that "Prototype" is some kind of cutting edge experiment in grindcore; it's just a damn solid grindcore album that will keep your interest the entire way.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).