"Programmed to Consume"


01. Programmed to Consume
02. Compulsory Resurrection
03. Twilight's Fallen
04. Grotesque Modern Art
05. A Remission of Life
06. The Descent
07. Aeon Aomegas
08. Cease to Comprehend
09. Walk the Path of Fire

RATING: 8.5/10

Los Angeles' ABYSMAL DAWN hit a home run the first time at bat with "From Ashes", the full-length debut on Crash Music, Inc. in 2006. It ended up being one of a handful of my favorite death metal albums from that year and continues to be today. The album sounded like it was recorded by a band that had been together for a decade, thanks to songwriting that balanced aggression, technicality, and melody, while throwing in slivers of thrash and doom. It was definitely one of the year's pleasant surprises.

Relapse liked what they heard of the next batch of songs and smartly signed these up-and-comers, recently releasing sophomore album "Programmed to Consume". Once again, I'm thoroughly impressed with the members' songwriting acumen. After being initially unsure of which disc I liked better, there is now no question: "Programmed to Consume" is a slightly superior album, mainly because everything the band does this time around is just a little bit better. Memorable songwriting remains paramount and the quartet still manages to up the heaviness factor. "Programmed to Consume" is a complete death metal album and its 37 minutes are easily absorbed in one sitting. Translation: Every song is strong and momentum never wanes. Listen to songs like the title track and "Walk the Path of Fire" and you'll soon know the sound of a band that keenly joins brutality and melody. It is, in fact, possible to write a catchy chorus and still be death metal to the core.

You also get great changeups (check out the way the slow-to-mid-tempo crunch switches to blasting destructiveness on "Twilight's Fallen"), clever use of accent (the keyboard bit on the chorus of the ferocious "Cease to Comprehend"), deliciously crunchy riffs, and solos from vocalist/guitarist Charles Elliott that top the previous effort. The man's leads blend technicality, feeling, and melody. Furthermore, Elliott's growls have become deeper and more menacing, yet also more intelligible, while his screams are perfectly placed and always hair-raising. Finally, drummer Terry Barajas has raised his game too, this time offering more textures to go with his dexterous and punishing style. Co-producer (with the band) and engineer John Haddad gives the album a crispness and clarity not often heard in death metal. My only complaint in this regard is that Mike Cosio's bass work is not quite as audible as I'd prefer.

Getting back to my original point, what impresses me most about "Programmed to Consume" is how expertly the band balances tunefulness with merciless force. No one would ever mistake the disc for anything but an ass-kicking death metal beast. What sets the group apart is its ability to write such memorable songs. I'm not saying ABYSMAL DAWN are the next OPETH or NILE; I'm just saying they're a goddamned good death metal band and "Programmed to Consume" is a case in point.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).