"Paradise Lost"


01. Oculus Ex Inferni
02. Set the World on Fire
03. Domination
04. Serpent's Kiss
05. Paradise Lost
06. Eve of Seduction
07. The Walls of Babylon
08. Seven
09. The Sacrifice
10. Revelation (Divus Pennae Ex Tragoedia)

RATING: 9/10

Has it really been five years since power proggers SYMPHONY X released "The Odyssey"? The impact of that album has been a lasting one, but damn, it has seemed like forever since it came out. Fortunately, it is not a stretch to say that "Paradise Lost" has been worth the long wait. It is everything a SYMPHONY X album should be — the overall grandness, Romeo's amazing guitar playing, Russell Allen's gritty (even more so now) Dio-esque delivery, and a deft command of melody. The album will be matched by few, if any, in the power/prog genre. Yes folks, it is another fine work from the New Jersey guys.

Perhaps the biggest change from "The Odyssey" is the sheer heaviness of "Paradise Lost"; it is a metal album through and through, a couple of lighter moments notwithstanding. Not that "The Odyssey" wasn't first and foremost a heavy metal album, but the band has certainly upped the irons on "Paradise Lost", as they'll be the first to admit. Appropriately enough, the album begins with symphonic intro "Oculus Ex Inferni", setting the stage for a fantastic group of songs. "Set the World on Fire" is classic SYMPHONY X, its soaring chorus one that speaks loudly of the group's triumphant return. "Domination" follows and is one the album's strongest tracks. A metallic scorcher with a tough pre-chorus that vaguely reminds of Dio-era RAINBOW, the song is an out and out killer. It is clear that Allen's voice has hardened considerably over the years, yet in no way means that he's lost any power; if anything, his delivery goes well with Romeo's incredibly heavy licks and white hot soloing. Much of the rest of the album is filled with more of Romeo's hard-as-nails playing, while Michael Pinnella's keyboards are right where they need to be in the mix, his accompaniment offering everything from the melodic to the atypical. Pinnella's keyboard break on the fiery mid-tempo track works wonderfully. "Eve of Seduction" and "The Walls of Babylon" are both slamming numbers with bombastic choruses. Eight-minute album-closer "Revelation (Divus Pennae Ex Tragoedia)" offers a little bit of everything: metallic force, symphonic and choral bits, and effective keyboard work from Pinnella.

The album's mellower songs are gems as well, the title track one that should go down as an all-time SYMPHONY X favorite. With piano and string sounds, the song's chorus features a much softer approach from Allen, and it is an absolute stunner in its melancholic beauty. Even more ballad-esque, "The Sacrifice" is filled with more of Allen's gentler style, the light picking and piano, as well as Romeo's section of Spanish acoustic guitar to close out the song, making the entirety of it a stellar affair.

One would be hard pressed to find an album that better represents the heavier end of the prog/power spectrum (toss REDEMPTION's "The Origins of Ruin" in there as well). "Paradise Lost" is an album that long-time fans will cherish for years to come, and should also convert to newcomers. Let's hope the wait is not as long for the next SYMPHONY X work of artistic wonder.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).