01. Nanu
02. Peace Officer
03. 14 Left
04. Rotten Strawberries
05. Belligerence
06. 3 O'Clock Love Letter
07. Ephedrine
08. Diary Of A Serial Killer
09. Cheese Wheel
10. Sludge
11. Peace Officer (Black & Blue Mix)

RATING: 5/10

Not much to say here. Like RELATIVE ASH, SLAVES ON DOPE and PRIMER 55, Detroit's FACTORY 81 are a faceless, generic nu-metal band who possess neither the songwriting ability nor the ingenuity to compete with the big boys, coming across instead like a bad copy of the kind of DEFTONES / LIMP BIZKIT / KORN-inspired sounds that are performed infinitely more convincingly by their home state buddies TAPROOT.


As is the case with the aforementioned bands, the production here is above average, and the musicianship is competent, but there is nothing on Mankind that even remotely suggests that FACTORY 81 have the potential—or even the desire—to develop a sound of their own. Devoid of quality songs, Mankind simply sounds tired, rehashed and contrived—a virtual parody of the genre that had spawned it.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to delete postings that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to block users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.