"Low Teens"


01. Fear and Trembling" (featuring Tim Singer)
02. Glitches
03. C++ (Love Will Get You Killed)
04. Two Summers
05. Awful Lot
06. I Didn't Want to Join Your Stupid Cult Anyway
07. It Remembers" (featuring Brendon Urie)
08. Petal
09. The Coin Has a Say
10. Religion of Speed
11. Just as Real but Not as Brightly Lit
12. 1977
13. Map Change

RATING: 7.5/10

Buffalo, New York's EVERY TIME I DIE gets right to the point with its distinct, in-your-face conflation of metallic hardcore, Southern groove and rock 'n' roll on its eighth full-length: "Low Teens". The release is a much more controlled, focused and interesting outing compared to the band's material in recent years, including 2014's "From Parts Unknown", which, in many ways, is due to the more mature and textured guitar work of Jordan Buckley and Andy Williams.

Frontman Keith Buckley's lyrics were driven by a pregnancy scare he and his wife had. Mother and unborn baby were at risk due to complications, which they've both fortunately recovered from since then. His characteristic sharp wit remains lyrically, while outside of the band, the charismatic vocalist has leveraged his writing prowess into novel writing and work with Comedy Central. Yet, this time around, the focus seems less geared toward crafty word play considering his family trauma. In "Petal", he repeatedly screams, "Untimely ripped into this world, I was born again as a girl.” There's little surprise, then, that the delivery of his lyrics is much more passionate, seemingly drifting between love, anger and fear as he reflects upon mortality and family.

"Fear and Trembling", showcasing guest vocals from Tim Singer (DEADGUY), kicks things off somewhat awkwardly. The loose guitar work that eventually tightens up and finds a steady course—thanks largely to drummer Daniel Davison pinning things down—appropriately fits the motif of Buckley's turmoil, and eventually leads to a more confident stance and outlook.

Whether intentional or not, the sequencing of tracks also suits what one would imagine to be Buckley's rollercoaster of emotions and perspectives during his family's ordeal. Spastic rage and unhinged anger steer the ship early on, while a greater sense of control and confidence permeates the songs vocally and musically toward the release's end—as with the busy yet focused groove of "Just as Real but Not as Brightly Lit".

PANIC! AT THE DISCO's Brendon Urie seems an unlikely choice for guest vocals, yet his contribution to "It Remembers" perfectly compliments Buckley's bluesy swagger. The song has a Southern, seventies burnout quality as distant as you can get from the metalcore tag EVERY TIME I DIE is so often associated with.

"Low Teens" is a solid EVERY TIME I DIE album that touches upon the different styles and sounds from the group's back catalogue with memorable results worth revisiting. The unit isn't reinventing the wheel, but why fix what isn't broken? Instead, the band has driven itself back on the highway and put the pedal to the metal.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).