"Kings of Damnation: 98-04"


01. Losing Your Mind
02. Horse Called War
03. Between Heaven and Hell
04. Sold my Soul
05. Bored to Tears
06. Bleed for Me
07. TAZ
08. Counterfeit God
09. Stronger than Death
10. Speedball
11. Demise of Sanity
12. We Live No More
13. Stillborn
14. The Blessed Hellride
15. Crazy or High
16. House of Doom
17. Takillya
18. Doomsday Inc.
19. SDMF

RATING: 8/10

I like Zakk Wylde as much as the next guy, his denim-and-leather-clad, grease-stained, beer-swilling aesthetic always welcome in my house. While I'll probably always prefer albums like "Stronger than Death" and "Sonic Brew" to those released since (with the possible exception of "1919 Eternal"), I can't say that there has been anything Mr. Wylde released that I didn't like. Still, I'm not a worshipper or a Chapter member (damn, that application is complicated), and usually take the BLS medication in small doses, an album's worth tending to be a bit much at times. That's why "Kings of Damnation: 98-04" is such a treat. I get everything I need in one 19-song disc.

Never paying much attention to PRIDE & GLORY or Zakk's "Book of Shadows" album, that "Kings of Damnation…" begins with two tracks from each project is a welcome surprise. The guy is really quite good at this style of acoustic-laced, ALLMAN-esque, bluesy southern rock and each song is a keeper. I might mention that his vocals on "Horse Called War" remind me of Ricky Medlocke (BLACKFOOT, LYNYRD SKYNYRD), and yes, that's a good thing. From there, it's a generous helping of most of the highpoints from each of the BLS studio albums, including "Bleed for Me", "Counterfeit God", "Stillborn" (with guest vocalist Ozzy Osbourne), and "Demise of Sanity". Also included are instrumental acoustic pieces "TAZ", "Speedball", and "Takillya". As an added bonus, two previously unreleased tracks, "Doomsday Inc". and "SDMF" finish off the album, neither spectacular, but still solid BLS material.

What you won't hear is anything from "Mafia", as it comes after Zakk's run with Spitfire. Regardless, "Kings of Damnation: 98-04" is about as definitive of a collection as you're going to get at this point in the man's career. Highly recommended, especially for newcomers and those wanting the best material without having to pick and choose among several BLS albums.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).