01. Hellraiser
02. Too Wired to Sleep
03. Hangman
04. Angel of My Dreams
05. Fight On
06. So Long
07. Spirit of the Night
08. Midnite Fantasy
09. No Risk No Gain
10. Turnin' Inside Out
11. Take My Love
12. Justice
13. Love Will Survive
14. Rocks Off!

RATING: 5.5/10

"Hellraiser" is not the KROKUS of "One Vice at a Time" or even "The Blitz", and it sure as hell is not the KROKUS of the classic "Headhunter" album, but it's a good deal better than 2004's tepid "Rock the Block". Whether the slight improvement has anything to do with the departure of long-time guitarist Fernando Van Arb and his replacement with former member Mandy Meyer is debatable, but there is no question that at least a handful of these track sport more swagger and bluesy toughness in a Bon Scott-era AC/DC kind of way (i.e., what KROKUS sounded like in the first place).

In general terms, "Hellraiser" is a very predictable, often generic-sounding album of hard rock tunes, many of which feature a moderate pop infusion in the choruses. The best material is also the most rocking, the title track (also featured in European movie "Handyman") being the best example of the AC/DC-esque circa 1978 strut — basic, yet effective riffs and a simple, but catchy chorus. The fact that singer Marc Storace sound reinvigorated with a voice that reminds one of the vintage years certainly helps. Cliché or not, "Rocks Off!" and, to a lesser extent, "No Risk, No Gain" are fun rockers. The up-tempo "Spirit of the Night" is a decent, '80s metal rocker that almost approaches the band's heyday. A simple hook, mid-tempo groove, a slick little guitar harmony break, and a chorus that is pretty darn catchy make "Too Wired to Sleep" a keeper as well.

The aforementioned predictability and simple-groove-and-poppy-chorus formulas makes the remaining tracks a little too, well, predictable. With the possible exception of "Angel of my Dreams" in which the formula works rather well, the remaining songs are borderline throwaways. In fairness, "Take My Love" is the only stinker and songs like the sultry "Midnite Fantasy" and "So Long" don't suck; they're just forgettable.

Of course, those that came of age during the '80s and especially those that were (or still are) fans of the Swiss band will find "Hellraiser" to be more than tolerable. Overall, it's not a bad album and a good bit of it is relatively enjoyable. It's still a very average rock album though and one that will not be remembered in six months.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).