"He Who Shall Not Bleed"


01. He Who Shall Not Bleed
02. Unto Others
03. Paler Shade of White (A Darker Side of Black)
04. Hell Is Within
05. Red Dead Heat
06. I Can Hear the Dark
07. Going Deep
08. Is
09. Deny
10. Was
11. Way to Shine
12. Stayin' Alive
13. Rovarvisan

RATING: 7.5/10

This'll be a short one, not only because this U.S. release of DIMENSION ZERO's third album is way after everyone else has already been to the party, but because DIMENSION ZERO does one thing and does it well — they play textbook Swedish thrash. It's fast, it's catchy, it's melodic with tasty riffs and plenty of thrash polka frenzy. It's not quite as zany and off-the-rails as TERROR 2000 (as long as we're talking side projects) but it's a little more loose 'n lethal than, say, the early IN FLAMES output.

In short, it's a fast, furious album that will change zero lives, but remains a lot of fun. The last two tracks are bonuses for the US version, and their amped-up cover of BEE GEES chestnut "Stayin' Alive" was almost worth the wait to get the album release on these shores. It's patently ridiculous, of course, but you'll be playing it for friends long after the rest of "He Who Shall Not Bleed" has faded into the occasional pleasant surprise in your random iPod shuffle.

Don't take the brevity of this review as a slight on DIMENSION ZERO. As the progenitors of the Swedish metal scene branch out into new directions, for better or for worse, the world needs stubborn side projects like DIMENSION ZERO to anchor the sound at its roots and provide new material for the "play old shit!" contingent. Again, you won't be shaken to the core of your beliefs by this one, but you will be thrashed — and when you get to track twelve, you'll probably laugh your ass off.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.