"Hate Takes its Form"


01. Hate Takes Its Form
02. ...And Blood Will Flow
03. Degrading The Worthless
04. Within The Flesh
05. Intent To Kill
06. Impurity
07. Beyond Murder
08. Malice - Kill To Conform
09. Domestic Slaughter
10. Regain Our Masochist

RATING: 8/10

"Hate Takes its Form" from Denmark's DAWN OF DEMISE is a refreshing take on death metal. It is an example of understanding that "heavy" does not only mean relentless blasting, inhuman speed, or over the top technicality. The band takes a modern, groovy and violent approach with a lot of mid-tempo sections and bulldozing low-end pummel and mixes in a little SKINLESS and a less technical SUFFOCATION. An astoundingly good production from the band (mixed and mastered by Jacob Hansen) gives the album a gargantuan punch and brings out the clarity of the instruments.

The first quality that immediately jumps to the forefront is the colossal vocals of Scott Jensen. He moves effortlessly from a Frank Mullen gurgle-growl to a Jens Kidman (MESHUGGAH) monstrous bark and each of his patterns fit the songs splendidly. Then it's a matter of rhythms and riffs that crush the innocents and loom over the listener like Godzilla destroying Tokyo. The act is rather adept at riding those leaden grooves for all their worth and makes sure that every changeup has its place. Everything is written to enhance the song and that includes guitar solos that are full of feeling and offer a grand juxtaposition to the impossibly heavy riffs. DAWN OF DEMISE also take care to put just enough tunefulness into the tracks, assuring that the listener will be back for additional spins. One song that is especially worth pointing out is "Beyond Murder", which features a MESHUGGAH-esque time signature that is very well written. Spicing up the affair are guest vocal appearances from HATESPHERE's Jacob Bredahl on "Hate Takes its Form" and KOLDBORN's Lars Bjurn-Hansen on "Domestic Slaughter".

Kudos to Deepsend for being one of those labels that takes its time and releases only quality death metal albums, and that includes the new release from EMBRYONIC DEVOURMENT, "Fear of Reality Exceeds Fantasy". DAWN OF DEMISE's new disc is a pleasant surprise and an album that is as brutal as anything released this year, yet brutal in a way that has nothing to do with the million-notes-a-minute crowd. Songwriting is never sacrificed for unhinged savageness. Highly recommended.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).