"Harmonic Tremors"

(Hydra Head)

01. The Blessing
02. Kill And Crush
03. Levitator
04. Soon To Follow
05. Silver Ghost
06. Invisible Wolves
07. Peripheral Lows
08. The Vast Expanse
09. Caldera
10. A Distant Star Fades

RATING: 7.5/10

For the most part, just the fact that "Harmonic Tremors" is released on Hydra Head should give you at least an inkling that it is an album that contains flourishes of ISIS' patented ethereal-tinged and earth moving approach. That the project was named for the 50-foot effigy burned annually at the Fiestas De Santa Fe in Santa Fe, New Mexico and is the project of CAVE IN/OLD MAN GLOOM bassist Caleb Scofield (with assistance on drums from OLD MAN GLOOM's Santos Montano) should seal the deal. "Harmonic Tremors" is a doom album at its core, although the CAVE IN atmospherics and trippy dirges of some of Hydra Head's better known bands make it a far more abstract and simmering affair.

More than anything else, "Harmonic Tremors" is defined by its growling bass tone, more like a menacing serpent than an instrument with four strings. It is that bottom end rumble and the sleepy melodies that converge with Scofield's gruff and groaning vocals, mixed with semi-spacey clean vocals, that makes the album sound like an unidentifiable organic mass that roves across the room as the album plays. The opening track, "The Blessing", contains the album's most tuneful and upbeat (well, kind of) melody and dreamy aura, though not without plenty of beefy reverberations. Much of the rest involves the alternating clean and gnarly vocals, lava flowing tempos, and otherworldly vibes. But it keeps coming back to those impossibly thick bass lines, often driving tough movers like "Invisible Wolves".

In the end it is all about the rumble and the tripped nature of the beast, weather wafting vocals or churning riffs. "Harmonic Tremors" does indeed make you feel as though the earth is moving beneath your feet as the head leaves the body for a sojourn to the other side.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).