"Hammer Battalion"


01. The Greatest Of All Lies
02. Long Before Winter's Call
03. Your Children Will Burn
04. Hammer Battalion
05. This Day Belongs To Me
06. Marching Off To War
07. Entering The Hall Of The Slain
08. Black Horizon
09. Carved In Stone
10. Warriors of Midgard
11. Midsummer Solstice
12. Home Of The Brave
13. I Want You Dead

RATING: 8/10

I could really get used to these years when new albums are released by Swedish death metal progenitors GRAVE, DISMEMBER, and UNLEASHED (as was the case in 2006). Having already been thoroughly impressed by "Dominion VIII" and the self-titled DISMEMBER effort, it was time to check out the new long player from UNLEASHED. "Hammer Battalion" follows in the footsteps of its excellent predecessor, "Midvinterblot", but does not top it.

As with the last several albums in particular, UNLEASHED found a formula that works and have stuck with it on "Hammer Battalion". The style is indeed classic Swedish death, but UNLEASHED were always considerably groovier and catchier than its contemporaries (one would have an argument by referencing certain ENTOMBED albums, but the point has validity nevertheless), especially on the last few albums. The riffs are heavy, the pace often fast and furious, and Johnny Hedlund's vocals are immediately recognizable and always intelligible. Add to that songs that follow a traditional format (verse-chorus-verse-chorus-solo, etc.) and you get an album that is quintessential UNLEASHED, and that's why "Hammer Battalion" is so ass-kickin' and so memorable.

As cliché as it may sound, UNLEASHED do what they do and do it extremely well. The main difference between "Hammer Battalion" and "Midvinterblot" may be that the formula has been made tighter with the vast majority of the songs in the three-and-a-half minute range and only the occasional tweak to the formula (e.g. "Carved in Stone"). The familiar topics of Vikings, battles, and the world before Christianity appeared remain and each song comes with an immediately memorable refrain.

And that's why we love 'em. It's a formula that works. "The Greatest of All Lies", "Long Before Winter's Call", and "This Day Belongs to Me" are just a few of the highlights and, quite honestly, you won't find a bum track on the album. The solos sound great too.

Unless you're one that finds fault with a band that never strays far from its chosen path, it is difficult to believe that anyone would dislike "Hammer Battalion". It's heavy, catchy, and filled with tales of marauding Norseman. What's not to like?


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.