"Fury Rising"

(Mortal Music/MVD)

01. Suffer Patiently
02. Fury Rising
03. Crimson Sand
04. My Regret
05. One More Shot
06. Last Redemption
07. Unstrung Hero
08. The Fear
09. Glass Legacy
10. Fever Slide

RATING: 4/10

There's one in every town — the "it band" when it comes to opening pay-to-play shows for SOIL or SEVENDUST or DROWNING POOL, the ones who maybe did a theme song for their local minor-league sports team, or get invited to play the local car stereo outlet's wing-off and wet t-shirt contest every summer. They're a step above the other locals when it comes to presentation and presence; they might even have a little money behind them. They've got great merch, a farm-team endorsement deal or two for their gear, and big, big plans for the future.

They've covered all the bases, unfortunately, except for the songs that are supposed to be the reason they're here in the first place. STYGIAN actually aren't terrible writers — they're just boring as shit. Their singer has an irritating Hetfield fetish, and their riffs are strictly borrowed alt-rock arena thud circa a time when STATIC-X mattered to someone. There's a plod to the rhythms here that all the Zakk Wylde flourishes and Kirk Hammett licks on earth can't erase, a sense that the band (the drummer especially) would rather be tearing into some heavier stuff, but decided to instead "rock it out, to get big" — while failing to realize that some groove and heart might be required to do so.

If your idea of a good time is a big blender full of DISTURBED, BLACK LABEL SOCIETY, "Load"-era METALLICA and GODSMACK, then you can rock your chinstrap beard off to STYGIAN and their warmed-over 2002-era hard rock clunk. There's no denying it's well-recorded and packaged, professionally produced and laid out... but it just feels stale, late to the party, and third-rate. I mean, they check off every cliche in the book, from the stomping rock parts to the obligatory constipated ballad (where the METALLICA worship just gets embarrassing), even down to the Photoshop filters on the band photos in the CD layout. "Fury Rising" comes and goes without depositing a single original idea, or even a memorable one, in the listener's head. It'd almost be more interesting if it was terrible, and not such a flawlessly-executed bore.

I'm sure a few indignant members of the "local chapter" will bash out some angry, spelling-optional retorts to this review — that, too, is part of the whole tired package. But the fact remains that this particular bandwagon left the station years ago, and it's not coming back. STYGIAN can either put their obvious talent to work creating something a little less derivative, or they can enjoy their local celebrity while it lasts. A 4 for hard work and professionalism, but a stone zero on the give a shit-o-meter.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.