"Eden Fire"

(Pivotal Rockordings)

Helix Reign - Chronicles of a Broken Covenant
01. Jailbreak
02. Enhance My Nightmare
03. History Repeats Itself
Extinction - A Sinwar Quadrilogy
04. Zion Must Fall
05. Misanthropic Coil
06. Lament of Innocence
07. Prelude to Extinction
Black Lotus - The Shadow Flora
08. Soulstone Splinter
09. Crowned in Despair
10. Where the Black Lotus Grows

RATING: 7/10

Young label Pivotal Rockordings (from the same folks who brought you Pivotal Rage webzine) did well for themselves by signing Sweden's SONIC SYNDICATE as its first act. Ranging in age from a mere 17 to a ripe old 22, the members of this sextet have crafted a mature, confident album of Swedish-style melodic death metal that compares most closely with DARK TRANQUILLITY, and to some degree IN FLAMES and SOILWORK.

The album is comprised of re-worked material from the band's "Black Lotus" and "Extinction" EPs, as well as three new songs. Aside from a slight style progression on the first three (new) tracks, the tunes flow together surprisingly well, never giving one the feeling that this is a collection of re-releases. When it comes to melodies, the new tracks that begin the album are the best ones, "Jailbreak" being the standout with its SOILWORK-esque chorus. Nicely done keyboard work and the female backing vocals of newest member Karin Axelsson give "History Repeats Itself" a good boost to the song quality. Shades of that classic Napalm Records sound are readily apparent as well. The keys remain a significant presence throughout the rest of the album, accenting without interfering with the dense riffs that sometimes move in lockstep with the kick drums (thought it's never overdone). The DARK TRANQUILLITY comparison is most noticeable on the re-worked material, especially on songs like the up-tempo "Misanthropic Coil" and "Lament of Innocence". Other noteworthy moments include the combination of flowing guitar harmonies and rhythmic stomp on "Soulstone Splinter", the cold keys on "Prelude to Extinction", and the gothic tones on "Crowned in Despair" and "Where the Black Lotus Grows".

I know what you're thinking. There's nothing new under the sun, right? Still, SONIC SYNDICATE does maintain a sense of identity and easily stands within the top half of this over-populated genre. In short, if you are a fan of the style, "Eden Fire" is worth checking out. I doubt you will be disappointed.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details.