"Doom, Gloom, Heartache & Whiskey"


01. Start a War
02. Doom Gloom Heartache & Whiskey
03. In Hell
04. Hair of the Dog
05. Shot Down
06. Double or Quits
07. In for the Kill
08. 19 Swords
09. Drink

RATING: 7.5/10

Some of you may recall that VIKING SKULL was formed in 2003 by members of RAGING SPEEDHORN and got some early acclaim, but went largely unnoticed on U.S. shores. Let's hope that Candlelight's U.S. release of "Doom, Gloom, Heartache & Whiskey" changes that. It is really quite simple. If you dig whiskey-swigging, bar-room-brawling, southern-baked hard rock and metal, then you are sure to embrace "Doom, Gloom, Heartache, & Whiskey" with open arms and damaged ears.

Spend a minute or two with this album and you would swear VIKING SKULL hail from North Carolina and frequently travel down the road to raise hell and jam with ALABAMA THUNDERPUSSY. This is no cheap imitation; "Doom, Gloom, Heartache, & Whiskey" is about boogie slams and hot-ass riffs with big, burly vocals from founder Roddy Stone that make it sound as though he gargles with Wild Turkey and broken glass before ever take. After a straight-ahead opening number called "Start a War" that oddly, but effectively, has a vague PRO-PAIN vibe (some of that has to do with Stone's vocals on the track), the title track hits like a ton of breaks and breaks into a serious boogie groove. The stop/start riff of "Hair of the Dog" smokes with a just a sliver of "Deliverance"-era COC, while up-tempo rocker "Double or Quits" features the attention grabbing, naked vocal line, "I've been the victim of a bitch with a seven-year itch." Truthfully, at just over a half hour, the first eight tracks keep kickin' ass one right after the other with no room for yawns. Closing song "Drink" is a grand declaration of inebriation and all your friends are invited. Accompanied by piano and tambourine, the pub sing-a-along features a chorus of "We're gonna drink 'til we shit our pants." It'll bring a tear to your bloodshot eye.

I'm sure you get the point and now realize what "Doom, Gloom, Heartache & Whiskey" is all about. This style of music — provided the songwriting is up to snuff — never gets old, unless all your attention is focused on buying albums from bands with members wearing eyeliner and girly pants. By the way, you can catch VIKING SKULL — also featuring Jess Margera of CKY — on tour with CLUTCH in late December.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).