"Deliver Us"


01. Doomsayer (The Beginning of the End)
02. Sanctuary
03. Demon(s)
04. Ethereal Drain
05. Paradox with Flies
06. Light at the Edge of the World
07. Stand and Receive Your Judgment
08. Tunguska
09. Fire in the Skies
10. Full Imperial Collapse
11. Deliver Us

RATING: 7.5/10

DARKEST HOUR took a big step forward with "Undoing Ruin", retaining much of the AT THE GATES-style thrash/death galloping heard on "Hidden Hands of a Sadist Nation" and broadening its arrangements to include more melody and an expansive sound thanks to producer Devin Townsend. The result made them, in my opinion, one of the best acts on the Victory roster, and an album that many felt was one of the year's strongest. On "Deliver Us", DARKEST HOUR continues in a manner similar to what is heard on its predecessor, though not quite matching its excellence.

Does that mean that "Deliver Us" is not a worthy follow up? Absolutely not. It is another solid album from the band, even if there are no truly outstanding tracks. While the band has not made the leap forward heard from "Hidden Hands of a Sadist Nation" to "Undoing Ruin", the new long player is still a quality affair. Devin Townsend's production once again harnesses the group's power, offering a tight rhythm section sound in which the bass can be heard, and a guitar sound that will be recognizable as distinctly Townsend; not only the riffs and solos, but also the nuances are brought out nicely. Though in a few parts you'll wonder if the sounds/atmospherics created (listen to interlude "The Light at the Edge of the World") come from a keyboard, the act makes it clear in the liner notes that "No keyboards were used on this album".

Several tracks feature the now familiar DARKEST HOUR furious gallop injected with melodic guitar lines, as "Doomsayer (The Beginning of the End)", the very aggressive "Stand and Receive Your Judgment", and "Fire in the Skies" demonstrate. The melodies are there, but not in a way that grabs you by the throat. Rather, it is on "Demon(s)", "Sanctuary", and "Tunguska" (with some well-placed acoustic guitar parts) where the band employees some clean (at times kind of a semi-shout), though not crooning by any stretch, vocals during the choruses, the result enhancing the songs' melodies.

Chances are that if you liked "Undoing Ruin" that you will also like "Deliver Us". I don't find the band's fifth release to have the same impact as "Undoing Ruin", mainly because of the aforementioned lack of stand-out tracks, but that does not mean that it is not a strong effort in its own right. If nothing else, DARKEST HOUR is consistent.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends). To report any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, please send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@)gmail.com with pertinent details.