"Defenders of the Filth"


01. Stay Black
02. Evil Essence
03. Same Old Shit
04. Peace of Ass
05. Infernal City
06. Take You Out
07. Still Not Drunk Enough
08. High & Mighty
09. Fuck With Your Boots On
10. Black Skulls

RATING: 8/10

"We are SUPERCHRIST and we play rock and roll!" The reference is to Lemmy's standard introduction to a MOTÖRHEAD show and it is a fitting one for the style of heavy metal rock 'n roll (as sung on opener "Stay Black") played on "Defenders of the Filth", another triumphant album from the oft overlooked SUPERCHRIST.

And by MOTÖRHEAD, I mean the Bronze era, and that's no indication of a rip-off; it is merely a nod to the trio's knack for penning no frills, catchy as hell, rockers that just happen to share some commonalities with a Fast Eddie Clarke riff tone, Philthy drumming style, and clever, Lemmy-like lyrics. And I'm quite sure that the members would fully admit their influences. But let's not belabor the 'HEAD thing. What SUPERCHRIST does is write great songs, often with the simplicity of punk and dripping with heavy metal passion.

Whereas "Metalhead" incorporated a stronger NWOBHM influence, "Defenders of the Filth" step on the gas from track one and go for the throat with riff-driven abandon and a barroom brawling rock 'n roll aesthetic. If your head doesn't unconsciously start banging to songs like "Evil Essence", "Same old Shit", "Peace of Ass", or "Fuck with Your Boots On" (a JUDAS PRIEST reference in the title deserves a classic IRON MAIDEN nod on at least one song, doesn't it?), then you're undoubtedly in a coma. The band's ode to home base Lansing, Michigan on "Infernal City" and album closer "Black Skulls" veer from the norm just a bit by injecting a more contemplative approach and slip a little chill into the arrangements, yet both are just as effective as the other eight tracks. Bassist/vocalist Chris Black (PHARAOH) not only writes all the lyrics and most of the music, he also engineered the album, giving it a natural sound that surely translates well on stage. The comically offensive artwork by Putrid completes the grand package.

SUPERCHRIST just gets it, it's as simple as that and "Defenders of the Filth" is one cool album. This is heavy metal rock 'n roll; this is SUPERCHRIST. Seek them out at all costs.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).