01. With the Flow
02. Stares Back
03. Forsaken
04. Minute U Die
05. Intoxicatedead
06. For Your Amusement
07. Watch 'n Wait
08. State of Shock
09. Bad Boy
10. Mind
11. You Don't Know
12. Dash
13. Spectorized

RATING: 5.5/10

Stockholm, Sweden's CREOZOTH is a minor super group of sorts consisting of guitarist Lars Johansson and drummer Jan Lindh of CANDLEMASS, vocalist Michael Storck (X-PLODE, YNGWIE MALMSTEEN), and bassist Tobbe Moen (ex-REDFUN, OZ). On the group's self-titled debut album, the music created is unpretentious heavy metal with faint touches of modern power metal that emphasizes crunchy riffs, blazing leads, and traditional song structures. Some of the songwriting here is relatively catchy, but none of it is all that memorable.

The particularly hard-hitting material works quite well, the mid-to-up-tempo songs like "With the Flow" and "Stares Back" somewhat worthy of your head-bangin' attention. The more power metal sounding tunes are just OK, "Minute U Die" and "For Your Amusement" a couple of examples. The ballsy numbers like "Intoxicatedead" and "State of Shock" aren't bad either. Both the six-minute "Bad Day" and the three-minute "Mind" go for a slower, ballsy/sleazy approach with only middling results. Storck's raspy mid-range vocals fit the crunch-n-squeal arrangements well. The album's last two songs, "Dash" and "Spectorized" could have easily been left off, both tracks rather boring instrumentals that clock in at 2:17 and 1:41, respectively. I mean why even bother?

I'm starting to think that most of what I do like about CREOZOTH is the riff crunch and the hot soloing. With a few minor exceptions, the songwriting is mediocre at best. Overall, everything sounds adequate, and save for the occasional cool riff or screaming lead, there is nothing here that will make your ears perk up like a dog that has just heard a cat's meow. There really isn't a whole lot more to say about it. At least it is an honest, guitar-based heavy metal album.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).