"Blah…Blah…Love Songs For The New Millenium"


01. I am the Scum
02. Bloodsucking Freakshow
03. Get Your Dead On
04. Little Spider
05. Murder Song
06. Altargirl 13
07. Pawnstar Champion
08. Nothing Girl
09. The Devil Made Me Do It
10. Give Up Your Ghost
11. Beneath the Living
12. Get Your Dead On (umixit)

RATING: 4/10

Now that ROB ZOMBIE has graduated to a new career as film director, with a return to music questionable, it wouldn't be surprising if other bands out there make a grab at his throne as modern metal's premier horror rocker. As a matter of fact, ZOMBIE's own guitarist, Riggs, makes a go of it with his new band, SCUM OF THE EARTH, and their debut disc, "Blah…Blah…Blah…", which not only copies the style of previous ZOMBIE album titles, but sounds like nothing less than a complete ZOMBIE clone band — only watered down and helplessly exhausted.

In fact, this may be one of the worst hard rock albums I've heard this year. Riggs also takes on lead vocals here, and he sounds like a weaker, poorer imitation of his boss — which, since singing was never Rob's strongest asset, is saying very little in Riggs' favor. Even worse, however, are the riffs, grooves, melodies and samples that all sound like ZOMBIE outtakes, with nowhere near the character and power that marked albums like WHITE ZOMBIE's "La Sexorcisto" and the later solo effort, "Hellbilly Deluxe".

"The Devil Made Me Do It", "I Am The Scum", "Murder Song" and a number of others on the disc are half-hearted attempts to capture the gonzo B-movie feeling and oddly catchy anthemic quality of ZOMBIE's best material, but none possess the energy nor personality of his best stuff. Meanwhile, "Little Spider" and "Give Up Your Ghost" are perhaps the shabbiest tracks on offer, limp power ballads that leaves out little details like emotion and a catchy melody. Riggs' attempt at singing with feeling just sounds flat as he is clearly trying to go beyond his limited range.

It certainly is Riggs' prerogative, and that of the others in his band (which includes former POWERMAN 5000 guitarist Mike Tempesta), to keep playing after a previous situation has dried up. But why relegate yourself to becoming a second-rate simulation of the band you were in, an act which clearly revolved around — and was propelled by — the central vision and charisma of one person? These musicians would be better served by doing something completely different, even if they stay in the metal world. "Blah…Blah…Blah…" hints that they have neither the imagination nor the skills to try.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).