01. The Uninvited Guest
02. The Sacrifice of Miss Rose Covington
03. Silent Film
04. Sweet Insanity
05. Desert Grave
06. Moonlight City Drive
07. Private Eye
08. The Darkest Days
09. Dead Virgins Don't Sing
10. The Hitchhiker
11. 100 Suicides
12. Adultery
13. Mature Audiences Only

RATING: 8.5/10

Traveling from Spitfire to Artemis and finally finding a home on Rotten Records, Baltimore's DOG FASHION DISCO hits pay dirt on "Adultery", a concept album that continues to showcase the band's lunatic genre blend of strangely accessible hard rock, metal, punk, jazz, ska (you name it) and all-around musical boundary-pushing. But first, the concept: "Adultery" is about a seemingly normal guy in his mid-30s, burdened with a wife, kids, and a safe corporate job. He caves in to his own demons, and begins flirting with drugs, prostitutes and eventually gives in to his dark desires and sadistic and murderous lifestyle." Translation: A sordid piece of pulp fiction tailor made for DOG FASHION DISCO's psychotic aural episodes. Storytelling and the painting of images through musical expression is a prime reason why "Adultery" comes off so well. It's no wonder the band has carved out a niche for itself by scoring film music, including being chosen by director Paul Schrader ("Taxi Driver", "Raging Bull") to score the music for "Dominion: Prequel to the Exorcist".

Not that the torrid and tuneful nuggets of 2003's "Committed to a Bright Future" are conventional by any means, but "Adultery" sees the band stretching its frenetic sound (one rife with Mike Patton vicissitudes) to follow the main character's trials and tribulations. The heavier (read: aggressive, but prismatic) material, such as "The Sacrifice of Miss Rose Covington" and "The Darkest Days", is done exceptionally well, the barreling rhythms and heavy riffs coexisting with mad carnival keyboards and palpably dark tones. Though melody is no afterthought in either case, more of a balance is struck on "The Hitchhiker", which just happens to include a break in the action for lounge music. Horns, ska beats, and outright nuttiness carries the up-tempo "100 Suicides", while the swing and sing-along pep of "Moonlight City Drive" is fun and infectious.

And yet, there is so much more on offer here. Led by Todd Smith's passionate vocal performance, the album's hooky highlight is easily "Sweet Insanity". A smoother flow and catchy chorus make it a standout among the standouts. Smith's versatility is demonstrated ably on "Desert Grave", his JOHNNY CASH impression uncanny. The band pulls off the country and western delivery with aplomb, and Smith even contributes a little banjo picking. Moving into even sketchier neighborhoods, on "Dead Virgins Don't Sing" I heard what can only be described as a marriage of TOM WAITS' "Bone Machine" material with MOGWAI's aberrant escapades. The album's most cinematic moments occur during "Private Eye", beginning with classic detective narration and switching to a violent and lascivious dialogue between our anti-hero and a prostitute.

"Adultery" is anything but ear candy, requiring your undivided attention, yet not force-feeding you aimless and esoteric compositional excursions. Once again, DOG FASHION DISCO is genre-less and proud of it. If you're tired of the trend-driven and the predictable, then try a little "Adultery".


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).