"A New Day"


01. Follow into the Cry
02. Crimson Leaf
03. Sleeping Away
04. Darkness of Day
05. My Rain
06. Fallen
07. Misery Carnival
08. A New Day
09. Drama for Two
10. The Art of Regret

RATING: 6/10

It soon becomes apparent that once you have heard "Follow into the Cry", the first track on SINAMORE's "A New Day", you have in most respects heard the entire album. No, it is not necessarily a bad thing, especially if you're a fan of H.I.M. or latter-day SENTENCED (to a degree), and a host of other melancholic, gothy rock acts.

By the time you've reached the halfway point, the formula of Miika Heikkilä's mournful singing (which is not bad, by the way), a driving, mid-tempo rock beat, and an every-day-is-a-rainy-day aesthetic become a little too obvious. The mood rarely changes, which is to be expected, but neither does the delivery. Sure, changeups do occur, but the band remains squarely in its comfort zone. And maybe that's the way you like it. Slight changes of pace (figuratively), such as an aggressive style of vocal during sections of "Drama for Two" or the build from light-picking and soothing bass lines to quicker tempo chug 'n' thud on "Fallen" do provide nice breaks in the action. And yeah, I dig the rocking SENTENCED fare of "Follow into the Cry" and "Crimson Leaf" too, even though neither matches the same level of passion and conviction of SINAMORE's Finnish (and now defunct) brethren. The melodic twin lead work on songs like "Misery Carnival" and the title track (with its cold piano intro) is rather pleasant as well.

"A New Day" is one of those albums that will probably satisfy fans that like a steady beat, dark melody, and ice-in-the-veins delivery, but may not do much to convert the uninitiated. Most of "A New Day" is at least average for the genre and none of it is significantly lacking. None of it is significantly moving either. This one is just OK.


To comment on a BLABBERMOUTH.NET story or review, you must be logged in to an active personal account on Facebook. Once you're logged in, you will be able to comment. User comments or postings do not reflect the viewpoint of BLABBERMOUTH.NET and BLABBERMOUTH.NET does not endorse, or guarantee the accuracy of, any user comment. To report spam or any abusive, obscene, defamatory, racist, homophobic or threatening comments, or anything that may violate any applicable laws, use the "Report to Facebook" and "Mark as spam" links that appear next to the comments themselves. To do so, click the downward arrow on the top-right corner of the Facebook comment (the arrow is invisible until you roll over it) and select the appropriate action. You can also send an e-mail to blabbermouthinbox(@) with pertinent details. BLABBERMOUTH.NET reserves the right to "hide" comments that may be considered offensive, illegal or inappropriate and to "ban" users that violate the site's Terms Of Service. Hidden comments will still appear to the user and to the user's Facebook friends. If a new comment is published from a "banned" user or contains a blacklisted word, this comment will automatically have limited visibility (the "banned" user's comments will only be visible to the user and the user's Facebook friends).